Gianna Speranza, MA

Hi! I’m Gianna and I’m a Professional Counselor here at Heritage of Hope Counseling

I earned my Bachelor’s degree in Psychology with a minor in Health and Exercise Physiology at Ursinus College. I then obtained my MA in Professional Counseling with a concentration in Children & Adolescents. 

My clinical experience began as a registered behavioral health technician in the field of Applied Behavioral Analysis. In this role, I assisted children and adolescents on the Autism Spectrum in clinic, home, and school settings. 

My experience in private practice has been working with behavioral issues, Autism, ADHD, sensory issues, anxiety, social deficits, school-related issues (elementary-college), emotional dysregulation, parenting stress, and emerging adults. I’m very creative in my approach to working with children of a young age, utilizing Play Therapy, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, and Rational Emotive Behavior therapy. When working with older individuals, I use Cognitive Behavioral Therapy and Person-Centered Therapy.


My Why

As you consider starting your journey in therapy, it is important to understand why I’m so passionate about my profession. As I have been through my own adversities in life, I feel strongly that no one should walk alone when they are faced with challenges.

It can feel scary and even weird to tell a stranger your innermost thoughts, but my hope is to provide a comfortable and non-judgmental space for you to explore yourself. Dare I say that therapy can even be fun at times!

I bring a warm and upbeat personality to my sessions, with the occasional use of humor. If you decide to join the journey, my hope is that you regain your sense of self, discover something new about yourself, and start a path to healing. 

When I’m not working…

Outside of work, I like to spend time with family, friends, and my dog Gizmo. I enjoy binge watching TV shows and seeing new movies. I love a good comedy. I also enjoy doing art such as drawing, painting, and sculpting. I’m a huge foodie and enjoy trying new restaurants or going to food festivals. I love getting a sweet treat often! I was a collegiate Track & Field athlete and although I’m now retired, I still enjoy getting outside and running. 

I also love spending time with my family. My family is my main support system; my heart and home.